Esoteric Dissertations from a One-Track Mind

July 31, 2007

Bill Maher: The Decider

Filed under: media, politics — codesmithy @ 7:30 am

Bill Maher’s special, “The Decider” is on YouTube of all places.  Again, questionable legality so see it while you can.  Parts (1,2,3,4,5,6,7, and 8).  Warning, there is some crude language.

I wish I could confirm all the aspects of the Dr. W. David Hager that Maher gives.  His wife did make an allegation of anal rape.  Although, Dr. W David Hager “denial” is very worthy of a Bush advisor: “the allegations as stated do not reveal all of the information and therefore they’re incomplete and not true.”

So, let me get this straight, the allegation is not true because not all the facts have been disclosed.  Facts that Dr. Hager knows, but refuses to disclose.  What exactly could his wife have been mistaken about?  Her consent?  What Dr. Hager tried to do to her body?  What possible piece of evidence could there be to exculpate his role?  Incomplete? Possibly.  Not true?  In the sense of the whole truth, no, but pretty damning as a “Christian” that supports a part of the religious right that abhors same-sex marriages and “deviant” sexual acts.  A person whose opinion was used to keep plan B (a morning-after pill) a prescription drug.

As the Nation put it: “Hager’s worldview is not informed by a sense of inherent equality between men and women. Instead, men are expected to act as benevolent authority figures for the women in their lives.”  Is it any surprise, really, that a man who doesn’t respect a woman as an equal, would try to invade her?  Is it any surprise that such a man would try to limit a woman’s reproductive choices?  I can only imagine what fear tactics he uses to let women know the “real truth about sexually transmitted disease.”  Apparently he has primacy on the “real” truth as opposed to the other types of truth out there, as demonstrated before.  I wonder if this is what Bush meant when he made his Freudian slip that  “OB/GYN weren’t able to practice their love with women all around this country.”

2 Comments »

  1. Where did you get Dr. Hager’s response?

    This week I took the time to compile my own list of Republican’s culture of corruption. (I went ahead and included the pedophiles.) I thought I’d finish in a couple of hours; it took me three days. Last time I counted I had over 200 names.

    I thought you might enjoy a gander.

    http://fluffer-union.blogspot.com/

    Comment by Tommy Korioth — September 10, 2007 @ 8:43 pm

  2. Unfortunately, it looks like I got the response off of Wikipedia.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/David_Hager

    Although, they are directly quoting a the Lexington Herald-Leader article. Although, I know I shouldn’t be sourcing an encyclopedia, I usually use it as a place to start. In this case, the direct source is a dead end because the local newspaper doesn’t appear to have the article online. However, in this case, since it is a direct quote, I doubt they got it wrong.

    As a side-note, I don’t take any particular joy in the “Republican culture of corruption”. I’m just disturbed at the amount of truly awful human beings we have running this country. I don’t think corruption knows party lines, however, due to some recent cultural factors (entrenched party power, low-turnover, business-ties, elitism, wealth loving, penchant for secrecy, crony-ism, etc.) there has been a serious rise in corruption in the Republican party in the last decade. I don’t think it is fundamental, but rather a result of the current crop of Republican party members. Republicans didn’t used to be a bunch of military-Keynesians, financially irresponsible, religious right pandering party. It has just become one recently, and it is quite sad really.

    Thanks for the link, I’ll definitely check it out. It sounds like you put a lot of work into it.

    Comment by codesmithy — September 11, 2007 @ 7:29 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

