Esoteric Dissertations from a One-Track Mind

January 4, 2009

How would I feel about a half-human half-chimp hybrid?

Filed under: science — codesmithy @ 11:08 am

Richard Dawkins asks the question: “how would you feel about a half-human half-chimp hybrid?”

As a fan of H.P. Lovecraft, I would feel it would resemeble “Facts Concerning the Late Arthur Jerymn and His Family.”  Unlike Dawkins, I don’t think producing a hybrid would change everything, except for a extracting a feeling of general repulsion and a sense that science had gone too far.  

Evolution is already fact.  Those who deny it are under a delusion.  A hybrid wouldn’t change their views, it would merely convince them of the “evil” science has caused by producing an abomination.  It is because of this reactionary ferment that the life of the hybrid is destined to be cruel.  It would probably have the intellect of a child, who knows if it would have language, and it almost certainly would be sterile.  

Instead of working our way down the evolutionary web, I would rather work our ways up.  It might be too reminiscent of the movie “Gattaca” but I think we are reaching the age of designer genes.  Soon, the wealthy will be able to produce off-spring according to our own aethistics.  I don’t see how natural evolution could keep up as each generation of this enhanced race becomes more gifted in improving their own make-up.  We would hit an epoch and head into a future, that is to me, unimaginable.  I wonder how many of the current mysteries that plague us will seem obvious to them.  I wonder if they will find answers I would not even be able to comprehend.

In sum, I don’t think proving something about our past will change everything.  I think it will be changing the shape of the future.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

